Thorpe keeps 209 Trophy

Junior Shane Edwards pushing in for his third touchdown.

Junior Shane Edwards pushing in for his third touchdown.

The Jim Thorpe Olympians drove up Route 209 to Lehighton Area High School tonight to defend its possession of the Route 209 Trophy and after four quarters Thorpe succeeded in keeping the trophy for another year.

Shane Edwards had a huge game as did the entire offense. On defense, Terry Moll forced three fumbles with at least two converting to touchdowns.

Here’s the breakdown on touchdowns. Note that JT scored on seven out of nine possessions:

JT – Johnson 35 run (Denny kick)
JT – Edwards 4 run (Denny kick)
L – Keer 41 pass from Agosto (Nalesnik kick)
JT – Johnson 19 pass from Cinicola (kick failed)
L – Nalesnik 22 pass from Agosto (kick failed)
JT – Edwards 1 run (Denny kick)
L – Keer 30 pass from Agosto (Nalesnik kick)
JT – Cinicola 1 run (Denny kick)
L – Rebovich 8 pass from Agosto (Nalesnik kick)
JT – Edwards 8 run (kick failed)

Here are the individual statistics corrected to account for Tom Acker’s 18-yard catch that was not recorded in the TIMES-NEWS’ box score:

Rushing – Jim Thorpe: Edwards 27-117, Cinicola 18-60, Johnson 9-75. Lehighton: Agosto 5-74, Rebovich 8-17, Farole 3-7, Angst 1-6, Hunter 4-2.

Passing – Jim Thorpe: Cinicola 9-16-0-151. Lehighton: Agosto 9-13-0-152, Hunter 1-2-0-5, Keer 0-1-0-0.

Receiving -  Jim Thorpe: Moll 3-40, Acker, 1-18, Schron 3-37, St. Hill 1-37, Johnson 1-19. Lehighton: Keer 5-98, Stauffer 2-16, Nalesnik 1-22, Farole 1-13, Rebovich 1-8.

What an ending to the season. Thanks guys!

More photos for purchase here.

This entry was posted in 2009 Season and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>